Karen A. Fagan, M.D., began her term as Pulmonary Hypertension Association (PHA) Board of Trustees (BOT) chair during a July 1 ceremony at PHA’s 2018 International PH Conference and Scientific Sessions in Orlando, Fla. Dr. Fagan is a professor of medicine and pharmacology, chief of the Division of Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine and director of the Pulmonary Hypertension (PH) Center at the University of South Alabama, Mobile, Ala.

Dr. Fagan’s professional focus is to advance the scientific understanding and treatment of pulmonary arterial hypertension (PAH). She has secured active research funding for both basic science and clinical/translational research in PAH, and directs the only PH center in the Northern Gulf Coast.

Dr. Fagan has been involved with PHA and a member of the Scientific Leadership Council (SLC) for 14 years. She has served on the SLC research committee, on the editorial board of Advances in Pulmonary Hypertension, and as Scientific Sessions chair for the 2008 PHA International PH Conference and Scientific Sessions. Dr. Fagan is a member of PH Clinicians and Researchers and is an SLC past chair.

In addition to Dr. Fagan, other officers were named:

  • Colleen Brunetti, M.Ed., C.H.C., chair-elect
  • Roger Towle, immediate past chair
  • Bill Hoff, treasurer
  • Sally Maddox, Ed.D., secretary

During the PHA Conference, two new members of the BOT were announced:

  • Bill Hoff
  • Amy Kimber, R.N., APNP

Additionally, leadership of the SLC and PH Professional Network (PHPN) Executive Committee transitioned at Conference. Two BOT members advanced to the SLC and PHPN chair positions:

  • Ronald J. Oudiz, M.D., SLC chair
  • Fran Rogers, M.S.N., CRNP, PHPN chair

The SLC and PHPN chairs-elect also joined the BOT:

  • Murali M. Chakinala, M.D., FCCP, SLC chair-elect
  • Cheri Abbott, R.N., CCRP, PHPN chair-elect

Joining the PHA founders, two BOT members emeriti were announced:

  • C. Gregory Elliott, M.D.
  • Michael D. McGoon, M.D.

Dr. Fagan replaces Roger Towle, immediate past chair, who presided over the BOT from 2016 – 2018.