PHPN banner

PH Professional Network Committees

Collaborate, Innovate, Educate

Our Committee members work to advance the collaborative approach to PH care. Nurses, nurse practitioners, pharmacists, respiratory therapists, physician assistants, social workers and other healthcare professionals team up to develop innovative research and education initiatives. They provide unique and useful resources to hone our members’ skills. PHPN’s Committees lie at the core of the Network’s mission to unite the professional community in providing the best care possible for PH patients.

Take your commitment to the next level – join one of our committees and help forge the future of PH care! Download a committee application to get started today. Have a question? Email the chair of any committee or to find out more.

Application for PHPN Committee Membership

Committee Membership Renewal Form

The Nitty-Gritty of PHPN Committees – View the webinar recording

Communications Committee

The Communications Committee engages with members and encourages them to utilize the benefits available to them, such as the Mentor Program and Committee membership. The Committee keeps members informed of all PHPN committee projects and activities, actively grows and promotes the Mentor Program, develops wellness resources for healthcare professionals and identifies needs within the community to better support PHPN members.

Education Committee

Charged with the development of educational assets for the PH community, the Education Committee produces a wealth of novel resources for patients, caregivers and medical professionals. Its projects have included the creation of our Pediatric Patient Handbook and our Ten Things to Do when Diagnosed with Pulmonary Hypertension wallet card.

Practice Committee

As an increasing number of clinics are now treating PH patients, there is an emerging need to share the best practices for PH care with the professional community. The Practice Committee researches, evaluates and disseminates ongoing developments in PH care among our membership. 

Symposium Committee

Since 2003, PHPN has organized a biennial Symposium providing targeted PH educational sessions for our diverse membership. Over 450 were in attendance at the 2015 Symposium, representing a wider spectrum of allied health professions than ever before. The Symposium Committee develops programming for the event and ensures that each Symposium attendee engages in an educational and fulfilling experience.

PHPN Executive Committee


This leadership committee is composed of the chair, and in some cases vice-chair, of each PHPN committee, in addition to a chair, chair-elect and immediate past chair for the entire PH Professional Network. The PHPN Executive Committee meets twice each year to discuss the needs of the PHPN community and set goals for the future. In between these meetings, members lead their respective committees; represent PHPN on PHA’s Board of Trustees, Scientific Leadership Council and Corporate Committee; and work to implement changes.

Fran Rogers, MSN, CRNP
PHPN Chair-Elect: Fran Rogers, MSN, CRNP
Temple University Hospital
Philadelphia, Pa.
Amy Kimber, RN, APNP
PHPN Chair: Amy Kimber, RN, APNP

Medical College of Wisconsin
Milwaukee, Wis.
Melisa Wilson, ARNP, ACNP-BC
PHPN Immediate Past Chair: Melisa Wilson, ARNP, ACNP-BC

Florida Hospital Medical Group
Orlando, Fla.
  Cheri Abbott, RN, CCRP
Communications Committee Chair: Cheri Abbott, RN, CCRP –
University of Colorado Denver
Aurora, Colo.
Mary Knabe, RN, MSN
Education Committee Chair: Mary Knabe, RN, MSN –

BryanLGH Medical Center
Lincoln, Neb.
Janine Martin, RN, BSN, CCRN-K
Education Committee Vice-Chair: Janine Martin, RN, BSN, CCRN-K –

Oregon Pulmonary Associates
Portland, Ore.
Laura Daugherty, RN, BSN
Practice Committee Chair: Laura Daugherty, RN, BSN –
Community Heart and Vascular Hospital
Indianapolis, Ind.
Michelle Cash, MSN, RN, APRN
Symposium Committee Chair: Michelle Cash, MSN, RN, APRN –

Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center 
Cincinnati, Ohio
Martha Kingman, DNP, FNP-C
Symposium Committee Vice-Chair: Martha Kingman, DNP, FNP-C –

University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas
Dallas, Texas