PH Care Centers

Medical Leadership

In early 2011, the PHA Scientific Leadership Council started development of the PH Care Centers initiative to assure outstanding care in pulmonary hypertension. Appointed by the PHA Board of Trustees, the PHCC Oversight Committee is tasked with management and governance of the PHCC initiative.

PHCC Oversight Committee

Myung H. Park, MD
Houston Methodist Hospital
Chair, PHCC Oversight Committee
William O’Donnell
Caregiver Representative
Jeffrey R. Fineman, MD
University of California, San Francisco
Jessie A. Kohler, Esq. Jessie A. Kohler, Esq.
Panish Shea & Boyle LLP
James Runo, MD James R. Runo, M.D.
University of Wisconsin
Oksana A. Shlobin, MD Oksana Shlobin, M.D.
Inova Fairfax Hospital
Doug Taylor Headshot Douglas R. Taylor
Patient Representative
Glenna Traiger, RN, MSN, CNS-BC
Murali M. Chakinala, MD Murali M. Chakinala, MD
Washington University in Saint Louis
Immediate Past Chair
Ex-Officio, Non-Voting
Ronald J. Oudiz, MD Ronald Oudiz, MD
LA Biomedical Research Institute at Harbor – UCLA Medical Center
Chair, PHA Scientific Leadership Council
Ex-Officio, Non-Voting
Stephen Mathai Stephen Mathai, MD
ACCP Representative
Ex-Officio, Non-Voting
Timothy L. Williamson, MD Tim Williamson, MD
Chair, Review Committee
University of Kansas Hospital
Michael Patrick Gray Michael Patrick Gray
Pulmonary Hypertension Association
Program Director, PHCC
Ex-Officio, Non-Voting

Developing and Implementing the PHCC Program

Since September 2011, members of the PHA Board of Trustees, the PHA Scientific Leadership Council, and other key stakeholders in the PH community approved the PHCC initiative in concept. A steering committee and task forces were organized and staffed to address accreditation criteria, program implementation, registry development, communication to key stakeholders and financial sustainability. The members below have been working since this time researching, accumulating and documenting information, developing logic models, defining action steps, building financial projections and validating the program content.

Murali Chakinala, MD (PHCC Chair)
Washington University in Saint Louis
Rino Aldrighetti
Richard Channick, MD
Harvard Medical School
C. Gregory Elliott, MD
University of Utah
Serpil Erzurum, MD
The Cleveland Clinic Foundation
Karen Fagan, MD
University of South Alabama
Bob Gray
Michael Patrick Gray
Carl Hicks
Wendy Hill, RN, NP-C, MSN
Steven Kawut, MD, MS
(Patient Registry Task Force Chair)
University of Pennsylvania
Vallerie McLaughlin, MD
University of Michigan
Stephen Mathai, MD, MHS
Johns Hopkins University
Olivia Onyeador, MHA
Ron Oudiz, MD
(Criteria Task Force Chair)
Harbor UCLA Medical Center
Abby Poms, RRT, RCP
(Implementation Task Force Co-Chair)
E Squared Trials and Registries, Inc.
Jeffrey Sager, MD, MSCE
Cottage Hospital
Robert Schilz, DO, PhD
Case Western Reserve University
Traci Stewart, RN, MSN
University of Iowa
Darren Taichman, MD
University of Pennsylvania
Victor Tapson, MD
Corey Ventetuolo, MD, MS
Brown University
Joel Wirth, MD
(Implementation Task Force Co-Chair)
Maine Medical Center
Roham Zamanian, MD
(Funding Task Force Chair)
Stanford University

PHCC Review Committee

The PHCC Review Committee is tasked with reviewing the site applications, conducting site visits, issuing accreditation decisions, and monitoring Centers’ periodic status reports.

Tim Williamson, MD (Chair)
University of Kansas Hospital
David Badesch, MD
University of Colorado
Vijay Balasubramanian, MD
University of Calfornia, San Francisco – Fresno
Anna Brown, RN, ARNP
Vanderbilt University
Karen Brown, RN, BSN
Inova Fairfax Hospital
Laura Duvall, PharmD, BCPS
The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center
H. James Ford, MD
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Judy Germani, RN
West Virginia University Hospitals
Daniel Grinnan, MD
Virginia Commonwealth University
Wendy Hill, RN, NP-C, MSN
Traci Housten, RN, MS
Johns Hopkins University
Amy Kimber, RN, APNP
Froedtert & the Medical College of Wisconsin
Edward Kirkpatrick, DO
Children’s Hospital of Wisconsin
Juliana Liu, RN, MSN, ANP-C
Stanford University
Harold Palevsky, MD
Penn Presbyterian Medical Center
Janet Pinson, NP
Virginia Commonwealth University Health
Abby Poms, RRT
E Squared Trials and Registries, Inc.
Sandeep Sahay, MD
Houston Methodist Hospital
Yon Sung, MD
Stanford University
John Swisher, MD, PhD
Ft. Sanders Regional Medical Center
Nidhy Varghese, MD
Texas Children’s Hospital
Aaron Waxman, MD
Brigham and Women’s Hospital
Delphine Yung, MD
Seattle Children’s Hospital
Dianne Zwicke, MD
Aurora St. Luke’s Medical Center
Olivia Onyeador
Program Manager, PHCC
Ex-Officio, Non-Voting